The British Orthodox Church - Fellowship Forum
Greetings from a new member - Printable Version

+- The British Orthodox Church - Fellowship Forum (http://britishorthodox.org/forum)
+-- Forum: General Lounge (/Forum-General-Lounge)
+--- Forum: General Conversation (/Forum-General-Conversation)
+--- Thread: Greetings from a new member (/Thread-Greetings-from-a-new-member)

Greetings from a new member - Robert McBride - 31-03-2008 03:48 PM

I would like to say hello as a new member to both the Fellowship and this Forum.

My name is Robert McBride and I live in Kettering, Northants and I am a newcommer to Orthodoxy so please be patient with me. I am a retired NHS Senior Manager with a long work history as both a Registered Nurse and Manager.

I am also retired from active ministry as a one time Traditional Anglican Priest and laterally within the Old Catholic movement.

I attended the most wonderful service of Consecration yesterday at Stevenage led by H.H. Pope Shenouda. It was probably one of the most spiritually uplifting events I have ever attended (and believe me I have attended a few over the years!). Never before have I seen a congregation give its Spiritual Leader such an awefilled welcome as they led His Holiness into the Cathedral. Having never met the Bishop of Rome myself I believe yesterday must compare to any Audience given in St Mark's Square.

Whilst at Stevenage I also met with Aba Seraphim and a number of BOC clergy and laity and enjoyed a warm and friendly welcome once I had made my introductions. I hope to travel and join with congregations from Norfolk to Gloucestershire and hopefully beyond.

I look forward to joining in future debates on this Forum as well.

Blessings,

Robert+

Welcome here - John Charmley - 31-03-2008 04:44 PM

Dear Robert,

It was good to meet you yesterday, which was, as you say, a most uplifting and edifying occasion.

Do feel free to post any comments, questions or opinions; we're an eirenic and, I hope, friendly bunch here.